The World At My Feet – Catherine Isaac

****

1990. Harriet is a journalist. Her job takes her to dangerous places, where she asks questions and tries to make a difference. But when she is sent to Romania, to the state orphanages the world is only just learning about, she is forced to rethink her most important rule. 2018. Ellie is a gardener. Her garden is her sanctuary, her pride and joy. But, though she spends long days outdoors, she hasn’t set foot beyond her gate for far too long. Now someone enters her life who could finally be the reason she needs to overcome her fears. From post-revolution Romania to the idyllic English countryside, The World at My Feet is the story of two women, two worlds, and a journey of self-discovery that spans a lifetime.

This is a really moving, beautifully written book. I guessed the connection between Harriet and Ellie from the description but I will not specify it just in case. From the beginning, I found myself invested in this story, I was keen to get stuck in, get to know the characters and follow them as the past meets the present.

I was engrossed in this read and thoroughly enjoyed it, however it is worth saying Isaac writes about some extremely sensitive, difficult topics and they did make for hard reading. Isaac writes sensitively and powerfully and it is absolutely central to the plot. Nevertheless, it does make for emotive reading and so it should. Ellie’s life in the present day also involves a sensitive subject matter and again Isaac writes about it with aplomb. I was completely immersed in the pain and emotion on every page, but do not worry for there is an abundance of hope in this as well.

The plot is very powerful and I just adored reading it and discovering more as I read. The characters are sensational as well, very well crafted, very likeable and easy to read about. The more I read about the characters the more I wanted to continue with the read. Isaac ensures the reader cares deeply about them. This is a highly emotional read and the characters are the perfect match.

‘The World At My Feet’ is a difficult read at times however it is also very powerful and a joy to read.

Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster UK for an advance copy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.