2019 in books!

So here we have it, another year of reading over! This year I have managed to read 131 books which I am very pleased with! Sitting down to write this, I was not sure what to put as I cannot think of much that is particularly stand out.

I have read a lot of thrillers this year, but there seems to be a trend in plots becoming more obvious and therefore disappointing, I may be too good at working them out! I think a move away from thrillers for a bit would be good. 

A book that really stood out for me was ‘The Hunting Party’ by Lucy Foley, this was a real ode to traditional crime reads and felt like reading an Agatha Christie. One of the last books I read this year is also like this, ‘The Woman in the Window’ by A J Finn, the review for this will be up tomorrow.

A book a lot of people have been talking about this year is ‘The Silent Patient’ by Alex Michaelides, I thoroughly enjoyed this and gave it four stars. I also loved that one of my favourite authors, M J Arlidge brought out a book with a different cast of characters with ‘A Gift for Dying’

I have to mention ‘Machines Like Me’ by Ian McEwan, a book I did not think I would enjoy, I read it because it was a new McEwan, not only did I thoroughly enjoy it but it proved to be very thought-provoking. 

Having loved the HBO series Chernobyl I jumped on the bandwagon reading two non-fiction books about Chernobyl, non-fiction is something I really got into this year and hope to increase this. 

I often pick out my favourite book from the year but I am not going to this time as nothing particularly stands out. I have read a lot of books I enjoyed from authors I love and have enjoyed reading new ones too. I already have a lot of reviews scheduled from advance copies I have read so 2020 looks like a good year for reading. 

Thank you for reading and here is to another year of reading!

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.