Every Breath – Nicholas Sparks

Hope Anderson is at a crossroads. At 36 she has been dating her boyfriend for six years. With no wedding plans in sight, and her father recently diagnosed with ALS, she decides to use a week at her family’s cottage in Sunset Beach, North Carolina, to ready the house for sale. Tru Walls has never visited North Carolina, but is summoned to Sunset Beach by a letter from a man claiming to be his father. A safari guide, born and raised in Zimbabwe, Tru hopes to unravel some of the mysteries surrounding his mother’s early life and recapture memories lost with her death.

‘Every Breath’ is another sublime read from Sparks. Every word is thoughtfully chosen and the plot is exquisite, incredibly emotional and resonated right through me. This book is brimming with emotion, I could really feel it the whole way through, it constantly felt like heartache was spilling off the page, the effect is stunning and I too was brimming with emotion throughout this read. The plot is effortlessly brought together in a way that makes you feel everything, I cherished my time reading this exquisite read and know that it is going to stay with me for a long time.

The characters are nothing less than perfection, yet again Sparks has created two wonderful characters in the shape of Hope and Tru, it did not take long for them to feel like friends and I felt honoured being able to discover their story. I have to say this is not my favourite plot from Sparks and actually I do not think much happens but this is written superbly, filled to the brim with realism, heartache and love and pulled together so charmingly that I could not help but fall in love with this book.

Sparks really has a talent for writing romance, no-one can capture love quite like him and this is a pure joy to read – that and guaranteed to make you cry!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.