Inherent Vice – Thomas Pynchon

‘Inherent Vice’ begins with Doc being visited by his ex-girlfriend who says a billionaire land developer she is in love with is at the centre of a kidnap plot and from there Doc gets dragged into a murky underworld with endless motives and drugs and an array of different characters.

This was an incredibly difficult book to read, I found it very uninteresting and I had no sympathy for anything that happened in this book and if it was not for the fact that I refuse to not finish books then I would have given up on this. I also found this to be endlessly confusing, most of the characters do not have real names but go by nicknames which made it very confusing to understand who was who and I did not feel the characters got going.

The book does pick up pace towards the end as it is all tied up but it was too late for me, there is not much I can say on this because I just thought it was so dull and full of unsympathetic people and I did not care what happened to them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.